SmartCare - Home (Dummy)

Catalunya (ES)

Total population: 7.5 million

Region profile

Catalonia (Catalunya) is located in the northeast of Spain and covers an area of 32.114 km2. The Region is especially famous for its spectacular beaches in areas such as the Costa Brava, its world-class gastronomy and the work of famous artists such as Gaudí and Dalí. It comprises four provinces: Barcelona, Girona, Lleida, and Tarragona. Its capital and largest city is Barcelona which is the second largest city in Spain after Madrid and is known as “the capital of Modernism”. Catalonia borders France and Andorra to the north and the Mediterranean Sea to the east (580 km of coastline).

The official languages are Catalan (own language of Catalonia), Aranese (Occitan), and Spanish; Catalan Sign Language is also officially recognized. The main tourist destinations in Catalonia are the city of Barcelona, the beaches of the Costa Brava in Girona, the beaches of Costa Barcelona from Mataró to Vilanova i la Geltrú and the Costa Daurada in Tarragona. In the Pyrenees there are several ski resorts, near Lleida.

Health and Social Care in the Region

The region of Catalonia has been managing its own health system since 1990, as the other autonomous regions in the country according to the national law 14/1986 (Ley General de Sanidad). One of the strengths of the Catalan public health system is the integrated care between primary and secondary care using the regional shared electronic health record (EHR) (called HC3).

The public health care insurer CATSALUT counts with 69 Hospitals , 400 primary care centres , 39 mental health centres and 100 social/health centres, which are part of  the public Health care network of providers (XHUP). This public network has  more than 65.000 professionals, properly aligned to the health strategies from the Health Department and the public  insurer (CatSalut).

At the technological level, the first stage of the Health ICT plan (2008-2011) has paved the deployment of the infrastructures required for eHealth services. Main pillars for integrated care have already been designed, implemented and deployed, such as ePrescription and Shared Clinical Record which are fully operable and used by all public health care providers. The digitalised image plan reaches 94% of HC providers that now do not print any kind of radiological image. Last but not least the Personal Health Record has raised its fully operational phase and also more services have been deployed under the Telemedicine plan. The new Health ICT plan (2012-2015) ensures the continued effort on the evolution of the core systems to ensure future service development. The key areas that will be reinforced during the plan will be the redesign of the regional shared clinical record to a network to integrate information and services, the provision of a multichannel network to interact with the citizens, and the deployment of the required infrastructure, fully standard compliant, to support the services.

At organisational level, the new governance system has created territorial areas where all healthcare providers and public administration (regional, territorial and local) define the priorities and coordinate healthcare services.

At clinical level, the Primary Healthcare and Community Health Innovation Plan, initiated in 2010, establishes the integrated care model as the new paradigm to pursue in the assistance provided to citizens. And the Program for Prevention and attention to Chronicity, created in 2011, and now in territorial deployment sets the bases, the processes and the guidelines for the attention to chronic patients where health and social care professionals manage the patient in close cooperation ensuring the continuity of care.



Government of Catalunya

Government of Catalunya - Territory and People

Government of Catalunya - Culture and Language 

Government of Catalunya - Politics and Economy 

Government of Catalunya - Tourism

Government of Catalunya - Virtual Citizen Care Office

Video: ICT Health in Catalonia

# # #